Buckstay
 
buckstay
 
Claims + Risks in Key Projects

Unforeseen risks and claims can endanger entire enterprises. This is where buckstay’s specialist teams come in.

Our claims management takes over the task of defending against unjustified claims or enforcing your legitimate claims – we analyze, process issues, document, negotiate or accompany you during dispute proceedings – for a short period of time or over the course of many years.

With risk management we also bring you quickly back to the helm – through the disclosure of relevant risks, with clear prevention steps and with the crucial plan B.

For you as a decision-maker, this means that you are capable of acting at all times that you are always on an equal footing with customers and suppliers and that you see your risks with full transparency. Each buckstay team brings in specialist knowledge and experience from industrial and large-scale projects – your counterpart quickly realizes that there are no paper tigers at work here.

Claims + Risks in Key Projects

Unforeseen risks and claims can endanger entire enterprises. This is where buckstay’s specialist teams come in.

Our claims management takes over the task of defending against unjustified claims or enforcing your legitimate claims – we analyze, process issues, document, negotiate or accompany you during dispute proceedings – for a short period of time or over the course of many years.

With risk management we also bring you quickly back to the helm – through the disclosure of relevant risks, with clear prevention steps and with the crucial plan B.

For you as a decision-maker, this means that you are capable of acting at all times that you are always on an equal footing with customers and suppliers and that you see your risks with full transparency. Each buckstay team brings in specialist knowledge and experience from industrial and large-scale projects – your counterpart quickly realizes that there are no paper tigers at work here.

Benefit 1 of 5

Defence or enforcement of
claims in the millions

Our core task is to defend against or enforce complex claims in the millions. In the process different requirements often come into play: commercial pressure, shortages of time and personnel, language barriers, diverging expectations and no clearly defined way of resolving the situation to one’s own advantage. Our specialist teams comprehensively take on all tasks from A to Z, from case analysis to arbitration or legal proceedings.

Our teams bring in know-how from over 250 major projects related to plant engineering and construction, energy, industry and infrastructure: Project volume of up to 1 billion euros, management of more than 40 complex claim procedures, oversight of project volume of over 12 billion euros, operations in 11 different countries and jurisdictions.

Making risks tangible and
staying at the helm

Industrial large-scale projects are particularly decisive in terms of the success of companies. If projects are running well, the company is catapulted forward, but if difficulties emerge then this can threaten the existence of the company. Our specialist teams quickly analyze the situation, provide additional data sources, identify benchmarks and combine these with our own project experience. In this way risks become tangible for you. If there is no established risk management system, we will implement one so that it continues to provide you with benefits even after we have fulfilled our order. If new risks appear that require further mitigations, we will be on hand.

Our teams bring in know-how from over 250 major projects related to plant engineering and construction, energy, industry and infrastructure: Project volume of up to 1 billion euros, management of more than 40 complex claim procedures, oversight of project volume of over 12 billion euros, operations in 11 different countries and jurisdictions.

Relieving strain on
your project resources

We take on the defense against or the enforcement of your claims, and always to support your internal project employees. Especially the outside perspective, combined with our claims experience from various industries and our project management expertise ensures that your internal strengths can be focused upon the essentials: contributing project and organizational knowledge to create a powerful unit together with our experts.

Our teams bring in know-how from over 250 major projects related to plant engineering and construction, energy, industry and infrastructure: Project volume of up to 1 billion euros, management of more than 40 complex claim procedures, oversight of project volume of over 12 billion euros, operations in 11 different countries and jurisdictions.

Long-lasting improvement
in supplier relations

Particularly in industry, relationships between customers and suppliers are highly complex, mutual dependencies are strong and the risk related to quality and delivery is omnipresent. If fronts are hardened and all parties have the feeling that they can only lose, we will provide both – relief from tension and results. Our teams work on two levels: for one we ensure mutually equitable communication for all involved parties to create transparency both internally and externally Secondly, we look for commonalities and pragmatic solutions for all aspects of the conflict that are critical to success. This is how we ensure progress for the project and trust in cooperation on all sides.

Our teams bring in know-how from over 250 major projects related to plant engineering and construction, energy, industry and infrastructure: Project volume of up to 1 billion euros, management of more than 40 complex claim procedures, oversight of project volume of over 12 billion euros, operations in 11 different countries and jurisdictions.

Burden relief,
risks under control

Large-scale projects are by nature difficult to see into in a transparent manner, and uncertainty about the course of the project can put a heavy strain on the project team. In many industrial projects safeguarding is an important factor for decision-makers. Therefore, we also take on small or large parts of your contract, change or claims management, we establish risk management systems based on internationally recognized standards and, as a task force, we keep your back free if risks emerge. Hence, for you as a decision-maker, major disruptive factors are removed, so that you can concentrate on the day-to-day business and represent the success of the project.

Our teams bring in know-how from over 250 major projects related to plant engineering and construction, energy, industry and infrastructure: Project volume of up to 1 billion euros, management of more than 40 complex claim procedures, oversight of project volume of over 12 billion euros, operations in 11 different countries and jurisdictions.

1 of 5

Jakob Winkelmann (left) and Carsten Hansen (right)

There’s a reason why

we’re called

Buckstay

A »buckstay« is a bracket for the boiler of a large steam generator and stabilizes it against pressure fluctuations. The company name stands for our project history from the power plant business and it reflects our self-image: we safeguard decision-makers and companies when the pressure rises in projects – this is quickly the case regarding claims and risks.

Jakob Winkelmann is a lawyer and a graduate in business administration, he studied law in Heidelberg and finance in London, and he initially completed his training as an industrial mechanic for mechanical and systems engineering at the Hamburg shipyard Blohm + Voss. In various leadership positions at Siemens, Alstom and ABB he has led teams working in Claims and Contract Management for major projects involving international plant engineering for 15 years.

Read more

There’s a reason why

we’re called

Buckstay

A »buckstay« is a bracket for the boiler of a large steam generator and stabilizes it against pressure fluctuations.The company name stands for our project history from the power plant business and it reflects our self-image: we safeguard decision-makers and companies when the pressure rises in projects – this is quickly the case regarding claims and risks.

Read more

The Buckstay Experts and current job offers can be found here.

Buckstay
 
buckstay
 
Claims + Risiken in wichtigen Projekten

Unvorhergesehene Risiken und Claims können ganze Unternehmungen gefährden. Hier greifen die Spezialistenteams von Buckstay ein.

Im Claimsmanagement übernehmen wir die Abwehr unberechtigter Forderungen oder setzen Ihre berechtigten Ansprüche durch: Wir analysieren, arbeiten Sachverhalte auf, dokumentieren, verhandeln oder begleiten Sie bei streitigen Verfahren. Für kurze Zeit oder über viele Jahre.

Auch im Risikomanagement bringen wir Sie schnell zurück ans Ruder – durch Offenlegung der relevanten Risiken, klare Schritte zur Vermeidung und den unentbehrlichen Plan B. Für Sie als Entscheider bedeutet das: Sie sind jederzeit handlungsfähig, immer auf Augenhöhe mit Kunden und Lieferanten und haben Ihre Risiken im Blick.

Jedes Buckstay-Team bringt Spezialwissen und die Erfahrung aus Industrie- und Großprojekten mit. Ihr Gegenüber merkt sofort, dass hier keine Papiertiger am Werk sind.

Claims + Risiken in wichtigen Projekten

Unvorhergesehene Risiken und Claims können ganze Unternehmungen gefährden. Hier greifen die Spezialistenteams von Buckstay ein.

Im Claimsmanagement übernehmen wir die Abwehr unberechtigter Forderungen oder setzen Ihre berechtigten Ansprüche durch: Wir analysieren, arbeiten Sachverhalte auf, dokumentieren, verhandeln oder begleiten Sie bei streitigen Verfahren. Für kurze Zeit oder über viele Jahre.

Auch im Risikomanagement bringen wir Sie schnell zurück ans Ruder – durch Offenlegung der relevanten Risiken, klare Schritte zur Vermeidung und den unentbehrlichen Plan B.

Für Sie als Entscheider bedeutet das: Sie sind jederzeit handlungsfähig, immer auf Augenhöhe mit Kunden und Lieferanten und haben Ihre Risiken im Blick.

Jedes Buckstay-Team bringt Spezialwissen und die Erfahrung aus Industrie- und Großprojekten mit. Ihr Gegenüber merkt sofort, dass hier keine Papiertiger am Werk sind.

Nutzen 1 von 5

Abwehr oder Durchsetzen von
Millionen-Claims

Unsere Kernaufgabe ist das Abwehren oder Durchsetzen komplexer Claims in Millionenhöhe. Dabei treffen oft verschiedene Anforderungen aufeinander: kommerzieller Druck, zeitliche und personelle Engpässe, Sprachbarrieren, divergierende Erwartungshaltungen und kein klar vorgezeichneter Weg, wie die Situation zum eigenen Vorteil aufgelöst werden kann. Unsere Spezialistenteams widmen sich jeder Aufgabe von A bis Z, von der Fallanalyse bis zum Schieds- oder Gerichtsverfahren.

Unsere Teams bringen Know-How aus über 250 Großprojekten in den Bereichen Anlagenbau, Energie, Industrie und Infrastruktur mit: Projektvolumina bis 1 Milliarde Euro, Steuerung von mehr als 40 komplexen Claimsverfahren, betreutes Projektvolumen von über 12 Milliarden Euro, Einsätze in 11 verschiedenen Ländern und Jurisdiktionen.

Risiken greifbar machen und
am Ruder bleiben

Industrielle Großprojekte entscheiden über den Erfolg von Unternehmen: Laufen Projekte gut, wird das Unternehmen nach vorne katapultiert, tauchen Schwierigkeiten auf, kann es existenziell werden. Unsere Spezialistenteams analysieren schnell die bestehende Situation, liefern zusätzliche Datenquellen, ermitteln Benchmarks und kombinieren diese mit der eigenen Projekterfahrung. So werden Risiken für Sie fassbar. Fehlt es an einem etablierten Risikomanagementsystem, implementieren wir dieses so, dass es auch nach Abschluss unseres Auftrags von Nutzen für Sie ist. Und sollten dann neue Risiken eintreten, die weitere Gegenmaßnahmen notwendig machen, sind wir natürlich zur Stelle.

Unsere Teams bringen Know-How aus über 250 Großprojekten in den Bereichen Anlagenbau, Energie, Industrie und Infrastruktur mit: Projektvolumina bis 1 Milliarde Euro, Steuerung von mehr als 40 komplexen Claimsverfahren, betreutes Projektvolumen von über 12 Milliarden Euro, Einsätze in 11 verschiedenen Ländern und Jurisdiktionen.

Entlastung Ihrer Projektressourcen

Übernehmen wir die Abwehr oder Durchsetzung Ihrer Claims, dann immer auch, um Ihre internen Projektmitarbeiter zu unterstützen. Gerade der unverstellte Blick von außen in Verbindung mit unserer Claimserfahrung aus unterschiedlichen Branchen sowie unsere Projektmanagementexpertise sorgen dafür, dass Ihre internen Kräfte sich auf das Wesentliche konzentrieren können: Projekt- und Organisationswissen beisteuern, um zusammen mit unseren Experten eine schlagkräftige Einheit zu bilden.

Unsere Teams bringen Know-How aus über 250 Großprojekten in den Bereichen Anlagenbau, Energie, Industrie und Infrastruktur mit: Projektvolumina bis 1 Milliarde Euro, Steuerung von mehr als 40 komplexen Claimsverfahren, betreutes Projektvolumen von über 12 Milliarden Euro, Einsätze in 11 verschiedenen Ländern und Jurisdiktionen.

Dauerhafte Verbesserung der
Lieferantenbeziehungen

In der Industrie sind Beziehungen zwischen Kunden und Lieferanten hochkomplex, gegenseitige Abhängigkeiten stark und das Risiko von Qualitäts- und Lieferrisiken allgegenwärtig. Wenn Fronten verhärtet sind und alle Parteien das Gefühl haben, nur noch verlieren zu können, sorgen wir sowohl für Spannungsabbau als auch für Ergebnisse. Unsere Teams arbeiten dabei auf zwei Ebenen: Zum einen sorgen wir für eine interessengerechte Kommunikation zu allen Projektbeteiligten, um nach innen und außen Transparenz zu schaffen. Zum anderen suchen wir Gemeinsamkeiten und pragmatische Lösungen für jene Bereiche des Konflikts, die erfolgskritisch sind. So sichern wir den Projektfortschritt und schaffen Vertrauen in die Zusammenarbeit auf allen Seiten.

Unsere Teams bringen Know-How aus über 250 Großprojekten in den Bereichen Anlagenbau, Energie, Industrie und Infrastruktur mit: Projektvolumina bis 1 Milliarde Euro, Steuerung von mehr als 40 komplexen Claimsverfahren, betreutes Projektvolumen von über 12 Milliarden Euro, Einsätze in 11 verschiedenen Ländern und Jurisdiktionen.

Rücken frei, Risiken im Griff

Großprojekte sind naturgemäß schwer durchschaubar und Unsicherheit über den Projektverlauf kann das Projektteam erheblich belasten. Bei vielen Industrieprojekten ist Absicherung ein wichtiger Faktor für die Entscheider. Wir übernehmen daher auch kleine oder große Teile Ihres Vertrags-, Änderungs-, Nachtrags- oder Claimsmanagements, etablieren Risikomanagementsysteme auf der Basis international anerkannter Standards und halten Ihnen als Einsatztruppe auch dann den Rücken frei, wenn Risiken eintreten. Damit sind wesentliche Störfaktoren für Sie als Entscheider ausgeschaltet, so dass Sie sich auf das Tagesgeschäft konzentrieren können und den Projekterfolg repräsentieren.

Unsere Teams bringen Know-How aus über 250 Großprojekten in den Bereichen Anlagenbau, Energie, Industrie und Infrastruktur mit: Projektvolumina bis 1 Milliarde Euro, Steuerung von mehr als 40 komplexen Claimsverfahren, betreutes Projektvolumen von über 12 Milliarden Euro, Einsätze in 11 verschiedenen Ländern und Jurisdiktionen.

1 von 5

Jakob Winkelmann (links) und Carsten Hansen (rechts)

Nicht umsonst heißen wir

Buckstay

Ein „buckstay“ ist eine Bandage für den Kessel eines Großdampferzeugers, die diesen gegen Druckschwankungen stabilisiert. Der Firmenname steht für unsere Projektherkunft aus dem Kraftwerksgeschäft und reflektiert unser Selbstverständnis: Wir sichern Entscheider und Unternehmen, wenn in Projekten der Druck wächst – das ist bei Claims und Risiken schnell der Fall.

Jakob Winkelmann ist Rechtsanwalt und Betriebswirt, hat in Heidelberg Jura und in London Finanzen studiert und absolvierte zuvor eine Ausbildung zum Industriemechaniker für Maschinen- und Systemtechnik auf der Hamburger Werft Blohm+Voss. Er leitet seit 15 Jahren in verschiedenen Führungspositionen bei Siemens, Alstom und ABB Teams im Vertrags- und Claimsmanagement für Großprojekte im internationalen Anlagenbau.

Weiterlesen

Nicht umsonst heißen wir

Buckstay

Ein „buckstay“ ist eine Bandage für den Kessel eines Großdampferzeugers, die diesen gegen Druckschwankungen stabilisiert. Der Firmenname steht für unsere Projektherkunft aus dem Kraftwerksgeschäft und reflektiert unser Selbstverständnis: Wir sichern Entscheider und Unternehmen, wenn in Projekten der Druck wächst – das ist bei Claims und Risiken schnell der Fall.

Weiterlesen

Die Buckstay Experts und aktuelle Stellenanzeigen finden Sie ab jetzt hier.